FLAC .zip: 1406 mb | MP3 .zip: 1652 mb

Thelonious Monk Septet - Monk's Music

  • Singer: Thelonious Monk Septet
  • Title: Monk's Music
  • Category: Jazz
  • Info: Label: Riverside Records ‎– RLP 12-242
    Series: Riverside Contemporary Series –
    Type: Vinyl, LP, Album, Reissue, Repress, Mono
    Country: US
    Date of released: 1959
    Category: Jazz
    Style: Bop, Hard Bop
  • Rating: 4.2
  • Votes 308


A1 Abide With Me
A2 Well, You Needn't
A3 Ruby, My Dear
B1 Off Minor
B2 Epistrophy
B3 Crepuscule With Nellie

Companies, etc.

  • Record Company – Bill Grauer Productions Inc.
  • Pressed By – MGM Record Manufacturing Division


  • Alto Saxophone [Alto] – Gigi Gryce (tracks: A1, A2, B1 to B3)
  • Bass – Wilbur Ware (tracks: A2, A3, B1 to B3)
  • Design [Cover] – Paul Bacon
  • Drums – Art Blakey (tracks: A2, A3, B1 to B3)
  • Engineer – Jack Higgins
  • Photography By [Cover] – Paul Weller
  • Piano – Thelonious Monk (tracks: A2, A3, B1 to B3)
  • Producer, Liner Notes – Orrin Keepnews
  • Tenor Saxophone – Coleman Hawkins, John Coltrane (tracks: A1, A2, B1 to B3)
  • Trumpet – Ray Copeland (tracks: A1, A2, B1 to B3)


Recorded in New York, June 26, 1957.

DETAILS : repress label ~ RIVERSIDE RLP 12-242 ~

Second Label Variation ~ Original Laminated Cover

Second US Mono pressing from 1959 with "Spectrosonic High Fidelity" on the frontcover. The third US Mono pressing from 1961/62, also on the blue Riverside label, has no 'Spectrosonic' on the cover. The first US Mono pressing from 1957 has the White & Blue Riverside label and 'Spectrosonic' on the cover sleeve.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side A label): RLP 12-242 A
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B label): RLP 12-242 B
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A runout etched): RLP-12-242-A-5 RI
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B runout etched): RLP-12-242 B-RⅠ RI
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A&B runout stamped): Block S

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
RLP 12-242 Thelonious Monk Septet Monk's Music ‎(LP, Album, Mono) Riverside Records RLP 12-242 US 1957
GSLP 7023, GSLP 7203 Thelonious Monk Monk's Music ‎(LP) Gateway Records, Gateway Records GSLP 7023, GSLP 7203 US 1977
RLP 12-242, 088072357778, OJC-084 Thelonious Monk Septet Monk's Music ‎(LP, Album, RE, 180) Riverside Records, Universal Music Group International, Original Jazz Classics RLP 12-242, 088072357778, OJC-084 Europe 2014
OJC 084, RLP-242 Thelonious Monk Septet Monk's Music ‎(LP, Album, RE) Original Jazz Classics, Riverside Records OJC 084, RLP-242 Germany 1983
OJC-32689-02 Thelonious Monk Monk's Music ‎(CD, RM) Original Jazz Classics OJC-32689-02 US 2011


Related Albums and Tracks
Copyrighting © 2018
WOWalbums.com 2018